I Have Finished Writing Dead Beginnings Volume 3: Olivia Darling! It’s a Great Day!

I have finally finished writing the third installation in my Dead Beginnings novella series featuring Olivia Darling from the Dead Soil trilogy! I really love this story because the main character, unlike almost all the other main characters in the Dead Soil world, is a teenager. I think going into the apocalypse at such a young age as sixteen it affects them differently. They a little bit easier forget the world they used to live in and they adapt a little easier to the rough life of constantly fighting for their survival in this one. I will say without giving too much away that Olivia suffers great losses and her story is particularly tragic to the point that I teared up a few times writing it. Even though the book is only roughly 100 pages long, meant to be read in a few short days or even in one sitting if you have a few hours to kill, her character goes through such a great transformation from beginning to end. Her relationship with her mother and the trials they face together is dear to my heart and a subject I like to write and explore in many of my books because strained mother-daughter relationships are something almost every female can relate to, including myself. This zombie story, being that it follows a teenage girl, does have more romance in it than the others I’ve written, though I feel Dead Beginnings Volume 2: Lee Hickey is based in romance and that is what fuels his decisions going forward into the apocalypse too, he just isn’t as emotional as Olivia Darling and doesn’t express himself in quite the same intensity as she does in reaction to the wrongdoings she’s suffered.

What I love about these little novellas is that they are tied into a zombie apocalypse world I created in my full-length novel Dead Soil trilogy but you do not have to read that first to enjoy these. In fact, you don’t have to read these in any particular order either even though they are numbered. Each story follows one character in the beginning of the end of the world as we know it. They are the stories that didn’t make it into the final cut of Dead Soil, which only shows the perspective of one couple handling the demise of their world and no one else even though the story is rich with many different types of characters.

Dead Beginnings Volume 3: Olivia Darling will be available exclusively through Amazon Kindle, Kindle Unlimited, and in paperback through Amazon on April 16, 2021. You can preorder it today!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s